Mortal Kombat X Story Mode Chapter List

how many chapters in mortal kombat xl

This will serve as the Mortal Kombat X guide to the story mode. To unlock the story mode, players will need to complete the tutorial first, and by doing this they will be rewarded with the Here’s How You Do It For PS4 Trophy And The obtain the same trophy. name. if you play on Xbox One or PC. Completing the story mode will also unlock Shinnok as a playable character in the game, as well as various costumes and settings.

Unlike other fighting games that players may be familiar with, Mortal Kombat X does not allow you to select your favorite fighter and play as him throughout the campaign. Instead, each of the game’s 12 chapters will feature a different playable character as players work their way through the cinematic experience filled with Quick-Time Events (QTE).

While most of the battles in story mode are pretty easy and defeating your opponent shouldn’t be that difficult, it’s the QTEs that can trip you up. For example, if you don’t press the indicated button on the screen quickly enough, or even if you press the wrong button, it can affect how the story unfolds. That’s why we have a list of every QTE in the game, which will make sure you don’t go wrong along the way.

It’s also worth noting that if players get stuck in Mortal Kombat X’s single-player story, there’s an option to skip the fight in the game’s Pause menu. You can do this up to three times, and if you need more, there are options to find them on the Krypt. With our help and those options, you should be ready to go.

After completing half of the story mode, players will unlock a trophy called A New Beginning, and when they are 100 percent done, they will earn one called There a Rule. Of course, if you’re playing on PC or Xbox One, these are referred to as achievements rather than trophies.

Note: Between battles and Quick-Time events, there will be plenty of cutscenes that will help convey the story behind Mortal Kombat X. We have covered the parts that require your participation, but we have not mentioned these cutscenes but prefer that each player can experience on their own. We’re just here to help you get from one to the other.


Chapter 1 – Johnny Cage

In Chapter One, players will take on the role of Johnny Cage and complete a Quick-Time event. Unlike some of the following chapters that require you to win one or more battles, this one is quite easy.

Chapter 2 – Kotal Kahn

The second chapter introduces Kotal Kahn, starting with another Quick-Time event, followed by four fights against Kano, Tanya, Rain, and finally Mileena. Below are the QTE listings for Xbox One and PS4.

Chapter 3 – Sub-Zero

Chapter Three spotlights a fan favorite in Sub-Zero, and it’s also the first chapter to have no quick events. Instead, players fight against three opponents, including Cassie Cage, Takashi Takeda and Kung Jin.

Chapter 4 – Kung Jin

In Chapter Four of Mortal Kombat X’s story mode, players have some time with Kung Jin, battling Erron Black first. However, unlike the previous chapters, there will be a QTE event, and then some additional fights against Ferra / Torr, Raiden and last but not least Kotal Kahn.

Chapter 5 – Sonya Blade

In the fifth chapter of Mortal Kombat X, players will take on the role of Sonya Blade, fighting Scorpion, Jax and Quan Chi before taking part in a Quick-Time event. As in the previous chapter, there will be another fight against Kano afterwards. Keep in mind that if a fight is too difficult for you, there is an option to skip it in the pause menu.

Chapter 6 – D’Vorah

The sixth chapter of the game starts with a fight against Baraka, followed by a QTE event, then battles against Rain and Mileena. It’s also worth noting that this is the middle of the campaign, and completing this chapter will unlock the PS4 trophy, A New Beginning. Of course, if you’re playing on Xbox One or PC, this isn’t a trophy, but rather an achievement.

Chapter 7 – Takashi Takeda

Chapter seven begins with a fight against Kenshi, followed by the now standard QTE, and three more fights after that. With the QTE out of the way, you can take on Reptile, Erron Black, and finally Ermac. Consider skipping a fight if you are fighting.

Chapter 8 – Jax

To begin Chapter Eight, players will have to fight Kung Lao, Sindel, and Kitana. This is again followed by a QTE and then an extra fight against Liu Kang.

Chapter 9 – Scorpion

Mortal Kombat X story mode chapter nine follows the same formula as many others before it, but this time you can unlock something for your trouble: Scorpion’s Hanzo Hitachi alternate costume.

Before we get ahead of the curve, you need to beat Sonya first and then complete the chapter’s QTE event. When you’re done, you’ll fight Johnny Cage, Sub-Zero, and finally Quan Chi. As mentioned, the last of these battles will unlock Hanzo Hitachi’s alternate costume from Scorpion, a decent reward for a working chapter.

Chapter 10 – Raiden

Unlike previous chapters, QTEs are done for the rest of Mortal Kombat X’s story mode. From now on, it’s nothing more than combat, and in Chapter 10, players will take on the role of Raiden, fighting against Baraka, D ‘Vorah, Kung Lao and Liu. Kang. Unfortunately, there are no unlocks or rewards for your troubles.

Chapter 11 – Jacqui Briggs

Chapter 11, the penultimate chapter of the MKX story mode, features four more battles. Players play as Jacqui Briggs and compete against Reptile, Ermac, Ferra / Torr and finally Kotal Kang. Like the previous chapter (and the next), there are no Quick-Time events to worry about, just battles and cutscenes.

Chapter 12 – Cassie Cage

In the final chapter of the game, players will first battle Sindel, but it’s the next three interactions that will bring the rewards. For example, the second battle is against Kitana, and players will unlock the Infected Temple of Heaven stage once it is completed. The third fight against D’Vorah also has some nice rewards, such as the infected Jinsei room scenario and Two Souls in the Mortal Kombat X mobile game.

The final battle in Mortal Kombat X’s story mode is against Corrupted Shinnok, and winning is the way to unlock Shinnok as a playable character. It’s also how you complete the campaign and unlock a trophy called There’s a New Rule for the PS4. Again, Xbox One and PC players will see this as an achievement, even if it has the same name.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top